26 Sep 2016

External members appointed to NIB Sanctions Panel

NIB’s Board of Directors has appointed Enery Quinones and Rohil Hafeez as external members of the Bank’s Sanctions Panel. Ms Quinones has also been elected the Chairperson of the panel.

The appointment of the external members of the panel follows the adoption of the new Investigations and enforcement policy. Besides the two external members the Sanctions Panel includes a representative of the Bank. The panel is set up to decide on possible sanctions, including debarments, of persons and entities found guilty of prohibited practices in relation to projects financed by NIB and other external activities of the Bank.

Ms Enery Quinones, formerly Chief Compliance Officer of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, is a member of FAO’s Audit Committee, a member of the OECD’s High Level Anti-corruption Advisory Group and the chairperson of the OECD’s Anti-corruption Network for Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

Mr Rohil Hafeez, who previously was responsible for the management of compliance, integrity due diligence and AML/CFT risks at IFC and held various positions in the World Bank Group and in the audit company Touche Ross & Co (now Deloitte & Touche), is a compliance and integrity consultant for the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank.

Read more:

Investigations and enforcement policy